Zeta Tau Alpha Province XIV-A
 
Hello, sisters!  My name is Stefanie Davis and I am thrilled to be the new ZTA Province President for XIV-A!

I grew up in Frankfort, Indiana, (GO, HOT DOGS!) and then found myself at Franklin College in the fall of 1991.  I graduated from Beta Theta chapter in 1995 and began teaching English and theatre at Jennings County High School, where I remained until 2001.  In 1996 I took on the role of Academic Advisor, but that only lasted the few months that remained until transitioning in the advisory ranks left the Membership Advisory post in my hands.

I fell in love...with recruitment...and with Zeta Tau Alpha, all over again.  There is something in writing door lines that speaks to me.  Weird.  I know.  But I started my 13-year tenure in that role under the tutelage of Pat Wooster Jackson, then Vice President Collegiate, and never looked back.

And then this spring my phone rang and I was asked to look forward.  Again things were transitioning in the alumnae ranks, and Mrs. Harmon asked me to take over as Province President.

It was not an instant yes, in the interest of full disclosure.  I was comfortable and things were going well.  After speaking with a couple of my predecessors and hearing the alumnae Initiation service again the decision was made.  I had never said "No" to Zeta before, and I couldn't start now.

It has been a whirlwind.  I have been a theatre, speech, and English teacher at Perry Meridian since 2001, so I read reports and wrote finals and crossed my fingers a lot that we would all be cleared upon arrival (Thank you for getting that done, officers!).  I think I finally breathed after meeting your chapters' representatives at Convention.  I thoroughly enjoyed our time together, and I am looking forward to meeting the rest of you soon.

And now, a challenge:

This was a successful biennium for XIV-A.  Don't rest on that.  Don't get comfortable.  Look ahead.  Just through casual conversation in New Orleans I heard chapters set 3 goals for the state:  5 Crown Chapters, 5 Highly Commendable Academic Awards, and 5 Founders Club members for the 2012 Convention.  Those goals are so attainable that I am going to add another part of the challenge.  Take a look at the Silver awards.  What can you do in your chapter - ALL of you - to qualify for one of those?  Chapter improvement and chapter excellence are not things that happen in officer isolation.  Each of you has a stake.  Each of you has a role.  And each of you will have a claim on those successes.

Have a great remaining few weeks of summer, and hit the ground running when you return to campus!

Zl,
Stefanie Davis




Leave a Reply.